Mary Ellen Quinn won a GGS Scholarship in grad school and went on to win the Marietta Suhart Award as a teacher at theMedical College of Georgia.

click to advance to the About Us pageClick to advance to the Annual Conference pageclick to advance to the Membership pageclick to advance to the research portalclick to advance to the Events pageclick to advance to the Jobs pageclick to advance to the Advocacy pageclick to advance to the Scholarships page

Student Scholarships


Scholarship Submission Information Memo (PDF)

Paper Scholarship Nomination Form (WORD)

Past Scholarship Winners (back to 2004)(PDF)

Contribute to the GGS Scholarship Fund

I would like to support the GGS Scholarship Fund:


The Georgia Gerontology Society provides
scholarship opportunities to outstanding graduate
and undergraduate students who are committed to pursuing a career in the field of aging.

Two scholarships are awarded each year. The Robert P. Wray Scholarship of $2,000 is awarded to one undergraduate student, and the Virginia M. Smyth Scholarship of $3,000 is awarded to one graduate student to promote students’ interest in age-related issues and to promote professional development in gerontology.

Scholarship Award winners will be recognized at the GGS annual conference during the Tuesday Awards Lunch. The 61st annual conference in 2016 will be held at the beautifully renovated Jekyll Island Convention Center (August 8-10, 2016). The two winning students will receive a free conference registration, hotel and mileage reimbursement and a one-year membership in GGS, an additional $500-$600 value.

The postmark deadline to submit an application for the scholarship
competition is April 22, 2016. Students must complete and submit the
scholarship application packet to GGS at the address listed on the nomination form. Incomplete application packets or packets postmarked after April 22, 2016 will not be considered. Winners will be notified by May 27, 2016.

GGS Scholarship Memo
GGS Scholarship Form

Contribute to the GGS Scholarship Fund

Donations to the Scholarship Program are greatly appreciated. To learn more about the Scholarship Program, contact Abby Cox at

Past Scholarship Winners (back to 2004)(PDF)


Scholarship winners for 2015:

Marlena Collins -Robert P. Wray Undergraduate Scholarship

Mariya Kovaleva-Virginia M. Smyth Graduate Scholarship


About Us
Board of Directors
Stay Connected

Annual Conference

Membership Form

Amanda James
  General Inquiries / Administrative Issues:
Amanda James -

Georgia Gerontology Society, Inc.
P.O. Box 7905
Atlanta, Georgia 30357